IIEST, Shibpur

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

(Formerly Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur)

Empowering the nation since 1856

The project Center for Healthcare Science and Technology "  Graphene oxide : A no-Acid low-temperature synthesis from graphite. Chem. Select 2, 5564–5569 (2017) doi: 10.1002/slct.201700751",  has been highlighted in Nature India as "Safer method to synthesize graphene oxide" .

Pure graphene oxide (GO) may deliver drug molecules inside human body including the crossing of blood brain barrier. Graphite with surface oxidation has potential use in industry and more so in space research. The present work describes a simple and elegant way to produce pure GO for its biomedical use and also this can lead to surface coating of graphite useful in space research. The known GO preparation using Hummers' method is hazardous and normally contaminated with metal impurities toxic to biomedical research and this can not be used as coat on the surface of graphite.



Class of B.E. 1990/B.Arch 1991 institutes InnoVision Award


March 3, 2017: Amidst a changing society, one needs to continuously innovate to stay relevant, which in turn, delivers concepts and things of the future. In order to encourage the spirit of innovation amongst the students of IIEST, Shibpur the Class of B.E. 1990/B.Arch 1991 instituted the InnoVision Award. The award will acknowledge the idea/concept and the exploration/execution coalescing into an innovative and visionary work. Such a work should be exciting by showing glimpses of a game-changing notion and at the same time, useful and responsive to the society at large.

An MOU was signed between the batch representatives and Prof Santanu Kumar Karmakar , Dean of Alumni Affairs and External Relations. As per the MOU, the batch will initially donate about Rs 13 lakh for two such perpetual awards per year to both the undergraduate and postgraduate students of the institute for demonstrated excellence in innovation. More such awards may be added in future.

IIEST, Shibpur congratulates the esteemed alumni of the batch, who have earlier instituted two more awards for the students through the Global Alumni Association- Excellence Award and Social Leadership Award- both of which have been running successfully for the last few years.



Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray, Director IIEST, Shibpur conferred Padma Shri


Government of India has honoured Prof.Ajoy Kumar Ray with 'Padma Shri' for his outstanding contributions in the field of science and engineering


Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray, Director IIEST, Shibpur

It is proud moment for the institute as our Director, Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray has been conferred Padma Shri in 2017 for his outstanding contribution in Science & Engineering category. Students, faculty members, staff, and alumni join together in congratulating Prof Ray for one of the highest civilian awards.

   Click on this Link



Dr. Chaitali Ray, Professor, Civil Engg. Dept. has received "E P NICOLAIDES" prize (Gold Medal) from the Institute of Engineers

31st Indian Engineering Congress as the subject prize best paper for the paper titled "Linear and non-linear analysis of fibre reinforced plastic bridge deck due to vehicle load" co-authored by my ME student Bibekananda Mandal.

Sri Sandip Mondal, former postgraduate student and current research scholar, Department of Civil Engineering, received the Innovative Student Projects Award 2016 from the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) for his M.Tech thesis on ‘Application of Biotechnology in Concrete’ under the guidance of Prof. Arun Kumar Chakraborty.

Page 1 of 4