IIEST, Shibpur

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

(Formerly Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur)

Empowering the nation since 1856

आई आई ई एस टि, शिवपुर

भारतीय अभियांत्रिकी विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, शिवपुर

(पूर्व में बंगाल इंजीनियरिंग एंड साइंस यूनिवर्सिटी)

१८५६ से देश को सशक्त बनाना

MoU between IIEST-Shibpur and Amer-Sil Ketex Pvt. Ltd., Kharagpur

IIEST-Shibpur and Amer-Sil Ketex Private Limited have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on July 12th , 2017 in relation to the industry-institute collaborative research project on development of fire-retardant jute nano-composites currently being undertaken at Dr. M. N. Dastur School of Materials Science and Engineering in IIEST, Shibpur. The Managing Director of Amer-sil Ketex, Mr. SK Roy handed over a cheque of INR 7,03,800/- to the project team from IIEST as first instalment. Amer-sil Ketex will act as an industrial partner by funding 30% (~24 Lakhs) of the total project cost to subsequent development and commercialization of the technology. Rest of the project cost will be funded by Ministry of Textiles, Govt. of India. IIEST faculty members, Prof. S Chatterjee, and Dr. Prosenjit Saha are involved as investigators with this project along with Dr. BC Mitra as technical advisor.

Download Details[PDF]

The project Center for Healthcare Science and Technology "  Graphene oxide : A no-Acid low-temperature synthesis from graphite. Chem. Select 2, 5564–5569 (2017) doi: 10.1002/slct.201700751",  has been highlighted in Nature India as "Safer method to synthesize graphene oxide" .

Pure graphene oxide (GO) may deliver drug molecules inside human body including the crossing of blood brain barrier. Graphite with surface oxidation has potential use in industry and more so in space research. The present work describes a simple and elegant way to produce pure GO for its biomedical use and also this can lead to surface coating of graphite useful in space research. The known GO preparation using Hummers' method is hazardous and normally contaminated with metal impurities toxic to biomedical research and this can not be used as coat on the surface of graphite.



Class of B.E. 1990/B.Arch 1991 institutes InnoVision Award


March 3, 2017: Amidst a changing society, one needs to continuously innovate to stay relevant, which in turn, delivers concepts and things of the future. In order to encourage the spirit of innovation amongst the students of IIEST, Shibpur the Class of B.E. 1990/B.Arch 1991 instituted the InnoVision Award. The award will acknowledge the idea/concept and the exploration/execution coalescing into an innovative and visionary work. Such a work should be exciting by showing glimpses of a game-changing notion and at the same time, useful and responsive to the society at large.

An MOU was signed between the batch representatives and Prof Santanu Kumar Karmakar , Dean of Alumni Affairs and External Relations. As per the MOU, the batch will initially donate about Rs 13 lakh for two such perpetual awards per year to both the undergraduate and postgraduate students of the institute for demonstrated excellence in innovation. More such awards may be added in future.

IIEST, Shibpur congratulates the esteemed alumni of the batch, who have earlier instituted two more awards for the students through the Global Alumni Association- Excellence Award and Social Leadership Award- both of which have been running successfully for the last few years.



Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray, Director IIEST, Shibpur conferred Padma Shri


Government of India has honoured Prof.Ajoy Kumar Ray with 'Padma Shri' for his outstanding contributions in the field of science and engineering


Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray, Director IIEST, Shibpur

It is proud moment for the institute as our Director, Prof Ajoy Kumar Ray has been conferred Padma Shri in 2017 for his outstanding contribution in Science & Engineering category. Students, faculty members, staff, and alumni join together in congratulating Prof Ray for one of the highest civilian awards.

   Click on this Link



Dr. Chaitali Ray, Professor, Civil Engg. Dept. has received "E P NICOLAIDES" prize (Gold Medal) from the Institute of Engineers

31st Indian Engineering Congress as the subject prize best paper for the paper titled "Linear and non-linear analysis of fibre reinforced plastic bridge deck due to vehicle load" co-authored by my ME student Bibekananda Mandal.

Page 2 of 5