IIEST, Shibpur

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

(Formerly Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur)

Empowering the nation since 1856

आई आई ई एस टि, शिवपुर

भारतीय अभियांत्रिकी विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, शिवपुर

(पूर्व में बंगाल इंजीनियरिंग एंड साइंस यूनिवर्सिटी)

१८५६ से देश को सशक्त बनाना

PG Courses

Admission: The M. Tech. in Mechatronics is a 4-semester (2 years) programme conducted jointly by BESU, Shibpur and Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi, through its associated institutes, Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CEERI), Pilani, Central Scientific Instrument Organization (CSIO), Chandigarh and Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute (CMERI), Durgapur. The programme is conducted by the participating institutes by utilizing their expertise and facilities available. The faculty members have been drawn from all the four places based on the expertise of scientists and academicians. While the course is conducted at BESU, CEERI, CSIO and CMERI, the academic degree is awarded to students by BESU on successful completion of the course.

  • Eligibility: for open 18 seats, qualification required is valid GATE score with minimum 60% marks in B.E./ B.Tech. Mechanical/ Mechatronics / Production/ Automobile / Manufacturing / Aeronautical / Electrical / Electronics / Telecommunication / Instrumentation/ Control or equivalent.
  • For Sponsored seats: No. of Students: 5: (CSIR + External) with minimum 60%marks in B.E./ B.Tech or equivalent in above discipline.
  • Admission procedure: as per rules of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur.
  • Reservation norms will be applicable as per University Rules.
  • All the academic rules of BESU (where applicable) will be followed for the programme.
  • Course structure: subjects will be covered by the BESU and the participating Institutes of CSIR at CEERI, CSIO and CMERI.

Under this programme, the students undergo the classes of first semester at BESU where faculties of all disciplines are available and basic knowledge of different components of mechatronic systems is taught in an integrated manner. During the second semester, all the students attend classes sequentially in the CSIR laboratory where they are exposed to advanced knowledge on different subjects and best research facilities in respected fields. During the third and fourth semesters, the students are attached to above institutes where they mainly devote to their dissertation work besides doing an elective course. As the dissertation topics are based on ongoing projects of the institutes, students get first hand feeling of the professional world and challenges.  

Download the Syllebus [PDF File]

Ph D Curriculam

The University offers PH D programme through all of its departments and a number of schools and centres under the faculties of

    1. Engineering and Technology
    2. Basic and Applied Sciences
    3. Social and Management Sciences

Ph D programme is offered through the department of

    1. Aerospace & Applied Mechanics
    2. Architecture
    3. Chemistry
    4. Civil Engineering
    5. Computer Science & Technology
    6. Electrical Engineering
    7. Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering
    8. Human Resource Management
    9. Humanities and Social Sciences
    10. Information Technology
    11. Mathematics
    12. Mechanical Engineering
    13. Metallurgy and Materials Engineering
    14. Mining Engineering
    15. Physics

The Schools/centres offering PH D programmes are

    1. Community Science & Technology
    2. Management Scinces
    3. Material Science
    4. Mechatronics and Robotics
    5. Purabi Das School of Information Technology
    6. Safety and Occupational Hazards
    7. VLSI
    8. Centre for Green Energy and Sensor Systems
    9. Centre for Healthcare Science and Technology

Admission to the Ph D programme offered by different departments/schools and centres are done twice in a year. Announcement for admission to the PH D programme is usually done in the month of April/May and October/November each year. Only on-line application is accepted. Accommodation is arranged in a shared basis with the PG students. University is converting a UG hostel, which is no longer used to accommodate UG students, exclusively for the research scholars. Financial Assistance is available through different agencies like DST, CSIR etc. as well as limited number of Institutional scholarships. For more information please see the Ph D prospectus.

For details look at the relevant download section.




Three Summer Research Fellow Programme of Indian National Science Academy / Indian Academy of Sciences IASc-INSA-NASI during 2009 -2010.
Name   Institute   Session
V.K. Niranjan   BITS, Pilani   Summer 2012
Ompraksh Bedant   IIT Guwahati   Summer 2012
J. Gayathri   PSG College, Coimbatore   Summer 2012
Raju Rawataji Nawalkishore   NIT Karnataka, Suratkal   Summer 2011
Balmukund Trivedi   NIT Warangle   Summer 2011
Oindrila Manna   HIT Haldia   Summer 2011
Subit Chakraborti   HIT Haldia   Summer 2011
Nandini Shukla   BIT Vellore   Summer 2011
Ms Atasi Giri   NIT Karnataka (Surathkal)   May - July 2010
Ms Liza Das   NIT Rourkela   May - July 2010
Ashutosh Bhuyan   NIT Rourkela   Summer 2009