School of Mechatronics and Robotics

About the School

The beginning of this century is marked with multi-disciplinary technological advancement which has not only revolutionized Indian and global industrial market but also has put an impact on engineering education system. IIEST Shibpur responded to the changed technological scenario by introducing a new specialized engineering post graduate degree course in Mechatronics under the School of Mechatronics & Robotics. The course is unique with respect to similar degree programs offered by other Indian Universities and is framed accordingly to educate graduate engineers to become experts in the multidisciplinary area involving mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, electronics along with computer software.

School of Mechatronics and Robotics is the outcome of the precious collaboration between IIEST, Shibpur and CSIR New Delhi through its constituent institutes:

  • CSIR-Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CEERI) Pilani
  • CSIR-Central Scientific Instrument Organisation (CSIO) Chandigarh
  • CSIR-Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute (CMERI) Durgapur

Vision & Mission

- Vision -

The school always aims to nurture the postgraduate students and research scholars with care so that they can achieve excellence to serve the needs of the society, industry and research in the overall scenario of the country compatible with global developments. The school aims to be recognized as a leader in mechatronics and robotics education and research and to convert students into successful professionals with a high degree of skills and an additive sense of civic, professional and ethical values.


- Mission -

The school is committed to educate its students to ignite creative minds with the wisdom and knowledge they receive and also for the development of human well-being. The students are motivated to translate their wisdom for the greater interests of human welfare. Further, the mission is extended to educate and prepare students at graduate and postgraduate levels to take leadership roles in the fields of mechatronics & robotics and to conduct quality research. The school provides leadership in mechatronics and robotics education, through a continuously improving educational program that provides students with strong engineering science fundamentals while incorporating applied engineering aspects. All possible resources are made available to the students so that they become effective passionate and creative personals. 

Academic Programs

# Title Duration Specializations Curriculum
1 Master of Technology (M. Tech.)
2 years
  • Two year postgraduate program.
  • Admission through CCMT
  • Approved number of seat is 18
  • Eligibility criteria : B. E./ B. Tech. in Mechanical / Mechatronics / Production / Automobile / Manufacturing / Aeronautical / Electrical / Electronics / Telecommunication / Instrumentation / Control or equivalent
2 Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.)

Admission through test and/or interview conducted by institute

Research Areas

1 Additive Manufacturing and Smart Material
2 Bio-signal analysis

Brain Computer Interface (BCI), Bio-mechanics and Human GAIT Analysis, 

3 Biomechatronics
4 Human Machine Interface

Cyber Physical System, Virtual Reality, Cognitive Science

5 Industrial Automation and CAD/CAM
6 Intelligent Systems
7 Mechatronics

Intelligent Innovative Product Development, bio-Mechatronics, Robust Control, Process Measurement

8 Mobile Robotics

Path Planning , Navigation, Guidance and Control

9 Orthotic and Prosthetic Devices
10 Research Poster

11 Robotics

Grippers, Sensors, Actuators, Image Processing, Bio-robotics, Dexterous Robotic Hand, Teleportation

12 Rural Technology

Research Scholars

Saptak Bhattacherjee
Ph. D.


Contact Us

Prof. Debasis Datta


School of Mechatronics and Robotics

Third Floor, New Science and Technology Building

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology Shibpur

P.O.-Botanic Garden, Howrah-711103



Mobile: 9830349590, 9836044278, 9830764060


Former Heads

Prof. A. K. Chattopadhyay (Mech. Dept.)

Prof. S R Bhadra Chaudhury (ETC Dept.)

Prof. P. K. Roy (ETC Dept.)

Prof. Arabindo Roy (ETC Dept.)

Prof. Debjani Ganguly (Elect. Dept. )

Prof. Subhasis Bhaumik (Aerospace Dept.)

Prof. Prasid Shyam (EE Dept.)

Prof. Santanu Das (ETC Dept.)